Letters to Luthien

Letters to My Future Bride

Earliest Spring

Earliest Spring
William Dean Howells

Tossing his mane of snows in wildest eddies and tangles,
Lion-like March cometh in, hoarse, with tempestuous breath,
Through all the moaning chimneys, and ‘thwart all the hollows and angles
Round the shuddering house, threating of winter and death.

But in my heart I feel the life of the wood and the meadow
Thrilling the pulses that own kindred with fibres that lift
Bud and blade to the sunward, within the inscrutable shadow,
Deep in the oak’s chill core, under the gathering drift.

Nay, to earth’s life in mine some prescience, or dream, or desire
(How shall I name it aright?) comes for a moment and goes—
Rapture of life ineffable, perfect—as if in the brier,
Leafless there by my door, trembled a sense of the rose.

March 1, 2015 - Posted by | Poems | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Have you returned to posting ? Seeing this just made my day – you and your words have been missed dear sir ! Kind Regards,
    Amy

    Comment by Amy | May 17, 2015 | Reply

    • This was a fluke. But yes, I do still write. Not here, but not far away either.

      Comment by BerenEstel | May 17, 2015 | Reply

      • Thank you for replying – I know you’re busy, my parents are nurses so I understand the lifestyle, so a ready response, or one at all in fact, wasn’t expected but thank you for taking the time ! Oh okay ! I wish I knew where – like the rest of your readership I miss your words 🙂 Hope you are keeping well.
        Kind Regards,
        Amy

        Comment by Amy | May 19, 2015

  2. I much regret that I can’t share with my regular readers and visitors (I still see about a hundred a week come through). I’m content to cast whatever light from these writings into the rooms of strangers, but it’s quite another thing when people close to you confront you critically about them. I can only say that you must be a clever girl, and if you are it won’t take you too much digging to find what you’re looking for.

    Comment by BerenEstel | May 20, 2015 | Reply

    • I’m so sorry that your beautiful words have been cast back at you. The idea that anyone could be so callous and cruel is heartrending, particularly about something so entirely personal that you so generously share with others. I hope you are alright dear sir. I don’t know about clever but I’ll try – lets see if my degree has equipped me with sufficient research skills ….
      Kind Regards,
      Amy

      Comment by Amy | May 20, 2015 | Reply

  3. I have to say I had a little moment of excitement when I ventured back after all this while to see if you’d been writing. Sad to hear it was only a fluke; your words were great encouragement to the rest of us lonesome individuals struggling against the current of modern society. Hope you are doing well!

    Comment by S | July 25, 2015 | Reply

    • I’m still around if you look.

      Comment by BerenEstel | July 25, 2015 | Reply

      • I’m glad to hear you’ve still got an outlet for your thoughts! It’s hard to be alone in that kind of fight. I hope to stumble across your writing again some day although I understand why you may wish to keep it more private.
        Best wishes.

        Comment by S | August 6, 2015


Leave a Reply

